Approximately 11% of all motor vehicle crashes involve a driver that flees the scene. Personal injury as a result of a hit and run can take years to recover from mentally, physically and emotionally. Our attorneys can get the compensation you deserve through various avenues including insurance and possibly your employer.
In North Carolina, a hit and run offense is covered under G.S. § 20-166 Duty to Stop laws, which states:
a driver has the duty to stop in the event of a crash
both parties must provide the other person involved with his/her identification, contact information, and insurance information
a driver must offer assistance to anyone injured in the event of this case.
a driver must remain at the scene of the accident until law enforcement and related personnel have completed the investigation
G.S. § 20-166 further discusses the responsibility of the driver and categorizes the severity of the offense as a misdemeanor or a felony.
If the driver knows or reasonably should know that the collision caused property damage, the driver may be charged with a misdemeanor. Property can include another person’s vehicle, house, bicycle, pet, and mailbox, or public property like a telephone pole. If the driver knows or should have known the accident resulted in serious injury or death, the driver can be charged with a felony.
Hit and run violations are on the rise.
It continue to rise each year. It’s important to be alert on the road and to know how to respond to this case should you ever face one. The following is a statistical snapshot into hit and run cases over the past 5 years. According to research obtained from the North Carolina Highway Patrol, the number of cases increased by 50 percent between 2012 and 2016.
Total Crashes Deaths Resulting from This Cases
2012: 10,385 213,605 15
2013: 11,198 220,271 23
2014: 11,626 226,552 20
2015: 13,612 251,638 24
2016: 15,353 267,494 23
The importance of a hit and run attorney.
Whether you’re the driver responsible for a case, or you’re the victim, it’s in your best interest to hire an attorney to represent you as soon as possible.
If you’re the driver accused, it’s important to understand your rights and what is involved in North Carolina’s Duty to Stop laws. It employs a structured sentencing system, and depending on your case, a hit and run conviction could result in a heavy fine, jail time, or both.
An experienced attorney will help you understand the charges that have been brought against you, as well as the punishments that may result from a conviction. Your attorney will work with the other parties involved, including insurance companies and the District Attorney’s Office to help navigate your case, resolve disputes, and provide vigorous defense against any criminal charges.
Don’t fight your hit and run case alone.
An experienced personal injury attorney in Sanford will work on your behalf, whether you’re a victim or the party accused of committing the crime. Whether identifying the driver or navigating the complex world of filing documents to support your case, your attorney can help you recover damages or defend you to give you peace of mind.
Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.